The Australian Hotels Association (AHA) and Tourism Accommodation Australia (TAA) have secured a win with the Fair Work Commission (FWC) regarding senior managerial classification for hospitality workers.

As part of its Four Yearly Review of Modern Awards, Australia’s industrial relations tribunal has ruled that the senior managerial classification for hospitality workers will remain unchanged, with the preservation of the existing managerial exemption salary in the hospitality award.

Australian Hotels Association (AHA) National CEO Stephen Ferguson said the outcome provides certainty for thousands of hotels and hospitality businesses across the country.

“Today’s decision was an important victory for Australia’s hotels and hospitality businesses and is the direct result of the Commission accepting the arguments the AHA and TAA put forward on behalf of the industry,” Ferguson said.

“Whether in respect to political representation or advocacy efforts in the Fair Work Commission, the AHA and TAA are providing unrivalled representation for Australia’s accommodation and hospitality industry – efforts that are delivering significant and tangible results, as evidenced again by today’s decision.”

“Importantly, the outcomes that AHA and TAA are achieving allow our members and the industry more broadly to grow, create more jobs for Australians and continue to deliver a world-class service to guests.”

“I particularly commend the efforts of the AHA’s National Director of Legal and Industrial Affairs, Phillip Ryan, who led the advocacy efforts in the Commission.”

The AHA and TAA are the exclusive industrial organisations representing employers in the accommodation and hospitality industry that operate under the hospitality award.

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *