The Australian Hotels Association (AHA) National Awards for Excellence were held at Campbell’s Cove, Sydney on Monday night, with 730 guests in attendance. 

Eaton’s Hill Hotel in Queensland picked up Overall Hotel of the Year in the metropolitan category, while regional Overall Hotel of the Year went to Treendale Farm Hotel in WA.

Treendale Farm Hotel also triumphed in the Best Family Dining Category in 2021. Venue manager, Addy Ribeiro, put the continued success of ‘The Farm’ down to the staff and the local community.

“I just would like to thank the whole team involved with the Treendale Farm operation, from management to FOH, BOH and retail, for the hard work and dedication and always providing the best customer service,” Ribeiro said

“Thanks to our community for the continuous support, and for making the Farm the place to go for our community. Nothing would be possible without them.”

Flower Hotels based in Port Macquarie, New South Wales, was named Hotel Group Operator of the Year.

Byron Bay’s Beach Hotel was awarded Best Entertainment Venue, while the Best Sporting Entrainment Venue went to Landmark in the Northern Territory. Best Family Dining was won by Belair Hotel in South Australia.

It was a good night for South Australian venues, with Peninsula Hotel, taking home the title for Best Bar Presentation and Service in a metro area, and the Loxton Hotel also winning the regional counterpart to the award. The latter also won Best Redeveloped Hotel.

Western Australia swept up the bistro awards, with the Rose & Crown Hotel taking the metropolitan award, and Hybla Tavern taking the regional award.

Paul Griffiths, who works at QT Melbourne, took out top honours in the Chef of the Year category in the accommodation division, while Anthony Fullerton of the Gem Hotel, NSW, triumphed in the general category. 

Finally, stalwart Perth publican, Neil Randall, was recognised with admission into the Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame. 

For AHA national president, David Canny, the awards were the perfect way to begin a summer that promises to be a fruitful one for Australian venues. 

“Today is an opportunity for the best in the business to come together at the start of what is set to be a bright and prosperous Summer for our industry,” Canny said.

“Nothing compares to the atmosphere, the noise and the sheer joy of being out in a lively pub full of good people, good food and great drinks. Today’s winners are proof that here in Australia we have the best hotel and accommodation venues, operators and staff in the world.

“I congratulate all finalists and winners on providing service to their patrons which is second to none.”

Alongside Canny was special guest and Australian of the Year, Dylan Alcott, who undertook a question and answer session with guests about the importance of accessibility in hospitality venues. 

AHA NSW president, Scott Leach, was the host for the occasion (having recently stepped down as national president after five years at the helm, while other speakers and presenters included AHA national CEO, Stephen Ferguson. 

A full list of 2022 winners is featured below:

Employee Excellence in Service – General Division

WINNER: Paradise Valley Hotel, Belgrave VIC (Liam Fisher)

Front of House Employee of the Year – General Division

WINNER: Bar Beirut, Canberra ACT (Soumi Tannous)

Chef of the Year

WINNER: QT Melbourne, VIC (Paul Griffiths) and The Gem Hotel, NSW (Anthony Fullarton)

Employee Excellence in Service – Accommodation Division

WINNER: Cyprus Lakes Resorts, Hunter Valley, NSW (Shaun O’Bryan), Ovolo South Yarra, VIC (Amy Moylan), Crown Hotels Melbourne, VIC (Brad Francis), Crown Towers Sydney, NSW (Lauren Carinci)

Front of House Employee of the Year – Accommodation Division

WINNER: Eos by SkyCity, Adelaide, SA (Siddartha Kaul)

Hotel Industry Rising Star

WINNER: Verandah Bar, Sydney, NSW (Sharni Aird), Eos by SkyCity, SA (Meg Anderson)

Outstanding Achievement in Training

WINNER: Berry Springs Tavern, NT

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement

WINNER: Barmah Hotel, VIC and El Cortez Hotel, Canley Heights, NSW

Excellence in Innovation, Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Practice

WINNER: Howard Smith Wharves, QLD

Best Tourism Initiative

WINNER: The Cove, Tasmania TAS

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Regional

WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metropolitan

WINNER: Peninsula Hotel, SA

Draught Beer Quality Award

WINNER: Oriental Hotel Mudgee, NSW

Best Hotel Bar – Accommodation Division

WINNER: Iris Rooftop, Hotel X, QLD

Best Retail Liquor Outlet

WINNER: Devonport Cellarbrations, TAS

Best TAB Licensed Venue

WINNER: Lizards Bar and Restaurant. NT

Best Gaming Venue – Regional

WINNER: Grovedale Hotel, VIC

Best Gaming Venue – Metropolitan

WINNER: Rosstown Hotel, VIC

Best Family Dining

WINNER: Belair Hotel, SA

Best Restaurant – Regional

WINNER: Furneaux Restaurant, TAS

Best Restaurant – Metropolitan

WINNER: Fleur, The Royal, WA

Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division (Mid-Range – Superior)

WINNER: Mister Percy, The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo, NSW

Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division (Deluxe)

WINNER: Amara, Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Best Marketed Hotel – General Division

WINNER: Cloudland, QLD

Best Marketed Hotel – Accommodation Division

WINNER: Grand Hyatt Melbourne, VIC

Best Meeting and Events Venue

WINNER: Hotel Realm, ACT

Best Suite/Apartment Hotel

WINNER: Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, QLD

Best Sporting Entertainment Venue

WINNER: Landmark, NT

Best Entertainment Venue

WINNER: Beach Hotel, Byron Bay, NSW

Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility

WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD

Best Bistro – Regional

WINNER: Hybla Tavern, WA

Best Bistro – Metropolitan

WINNER: Rose & Crown Hotel, WA

Best Traditional Pub Accommodation

WINNER: Porters Plainland Hotel, QLD

Best Deluxe Pub Accommodation

WINNER: Bermagui Beach Hotel, NSW

Best Mid-Range Accommodation

WINNER: Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, VIC

Best Superior Accommodation

WINNER: Spicers Sangoma Retreat, NSW

Best Redeveloped Hotel – General Division

WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA

Best Redeveloped Hotel – Accommodation Division

WINNER: JW Marriott Gold Coast, QLD

Best Deluxe Accommodation

WINNER: Crown Towers Sydney, NSW, The Ritz Carlton, Perth, WA

Best Luxury Accommodation

WINNER: Saffire Freycinet, TAS

2022 Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame

WINNER: Neil Randall, WA

Best Hotel Group Operator

WINNER: Flower Hotels, NSW

Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional

WINNER: Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind, WA

Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan

WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD

Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division

WINNER: The Tasman, Hobart, TAS

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *