The Tasmanian Hospitality Association (THA) has celebrated the state’s best hospitality venues at the annual Tas Gas Awards for Excellence, which were held on Monday night.

In total 38 of Tasmania’s best cafes, restaurants, accommodation providers, pubs, sporting clubs and tourism operators were crowned 2022 winners in front of over 500 industry representatives, while the Tasmanian Hospitality Association’s 14th Life Member was also announced.

Several of the state’s winners at the AHA Awards for Excellence that were hosted in Hobart in February again shone, highlighted by the Ship Inn Stanley which went back-to-back in the Accommodation Venue of the Year – Regional category.

It was one of three wins for the venue, with the Ship Inn also taking home the Veolia Best Environmental and Recycling Practice award as well as the title of Best Superior Hotel Accommodation for the second consecutive year.

St Helens based French restaurant Furneaux, which won three titles in 2019 including Best Restaurant – Regional at the AHA Awards of Excellence, was named the Restaurant of the Year – Regional, as well as Best Stand Alone Restaurant while new comer Peppina was crowned Restaurant of the Year – Metro and Best International Cuisine.

One of the highlights of the evening was the induction of Frank Morgan as the 14th life member of the THA. Mr Morgan, director of Julfran Proprietary Ltd, has spent more than three decades within Tasmanian hospitality, including serving as a board member, treasurer and president of the association. He bought the Pembroke Hotel and Gordon Highlander with Stewart Wardlaw in 1989, added the Globe Hotel in 2001, created the Globe Group and played a role in bringing the Thirsty Camel Bottleshops banner to Tasmania. He later moved his venues into the Cellarbrations banner group and expanded to include retail bottleshops in Kings Meadows, Mowbray, Glenorchy and Hobart.

THA chief executive Steve Old paid a special tribute to Morgan, saying: “Frank has without doubt provided a significant contribution, impact and driving force to Tasmanian hospitality, especially in the southern region.

“He has held a variety of positions during his 33-year involvement, has given back to many local communities through sponsorships of sporting clubs and thoroughly deserves this recognition as our newest life member.”

The Premier’s Award for Contribution to the Community went to Whisk and Co’s Danny Veis for his fundraising efforts for various charities and organisations. Mr Veis has partnered with the likes of Salvation Army and SPEAK UP! Stay ChatTY in the past and is currently running “Coffee for a Cause”, donating 10c of every Whisk and Co coffee sold to SHE Gynaecological Cancer Group.

In total there were 353 nominations from 125 individual businesses, with the winners getting the opportunity to represent the state at the next AHA National Awards in Sydney on November 28.

“The 2022 Tasmanian Awards for Excellence was another exceptional evening which showcased the best hospitality businesses across the state,” THA chief executive Old said.

“The quality of the nominations was of the highest class and this year’s judging in most categories was extremely tight.

“It was fantastic to celebrate the achievements of the past 12 months with so many industry representatives, who are the heart and soul of every Tasmanian hospitality offering.”

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *