The Independent Brewers Association (IBA) held its Annual General Meeting yesterday, announcing a new Chair and three new Board Directors.

Peter Philip of Wayward Brewing ended his tenure as Chair after two years, with Richard Adamson of Young Henrys Brewery stepping up to assume the role.

Philip reflected on his time as Chair, noting that changes to excise remission, membership growth and securing funding for the industry 10 year blueprint were among his top highlights over this time.

“It’s testament to people seeing there is real power in being part of an association and we can achieve great things together,” Philip said.

“It’s been really satisfying, and the people I’ve met, and I’ve gotten to know have become lifelong friends.”

Other leadership changes include David Kitchen of Ballistic Beer who stepped down as Treasurer, and Johnny Latta of Nomad Brewing who resigned earlier in the year to focus on opening a new brewery in Mudgee.

Adamson thanked the outgoing Directors for their hard work, especially over the difficult situation in the past 18 months of the pandemic.

As a result of these changes, members voted in three new Board Directors from 12 nominations. These new Directors include Callum Reeves, the Co-founder of KAIJU! Beer; Richard Watkins, Co-founder of Bentspoke Brewing; and Lauren Jack, Chief Operations Officer at Ballistic Beer.

New Directors join the existing Board which includes Derek Hales of Bad Shepherd Brewing, Clare Clouting of Gage Roads Brewing and Corinna Steeb of Prancing Pony.

After this Annual General Meeting, the IBA said it “couldn’t be better positioned” to help the independent beer industry mature and grow throughout Australia.

Brydie Allen

Brydie Allen is the Editor of National Liquor News. She has been with Food and Beverage Media since 2019, when she joined the company as a journalist across National Liquor News, Bars & Clubs, The...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *