L-R: Thomas McNeilly (Young Retailer of the Year), Andrew Charleson (Liquor Barons Duncraig), Callan Zahtila (Cape Cellars), Hon. Reece Whitby and Ric Puff (Cape Cellars)

The Liquor Stores Association of WA (LSA WA) has recognised excellence over the weekend at the 26th annual Lion Liquor Industry Awards.

Peter Peck, LSA WA CEO, dubbed this year’s event a great success as it honoured and celebrated the best the liquor industry had to offer in WA.

“There are a lot of quiet achievers in the packaged liquor sector who simply never get acknowledged for their hard work and community service,” Peck said.

“The Liquor Industry Awards recognise some of the individuals, teams and families who go above and beyond – sometimes in very difficult circumstances – to provide responsible, diverse and sustainable service in almost every town in WA.”

Big winners of the night included Liquor Barons, which took out the Metropolitan Liquor Store of the Year and Overall Liquor Store of the Year with its Duncraig outlet. Country Liquor store of the Year was won by Cape Cellars in Busselton, making this the fourth time the family business has won the title. The retailer awards were rounded out by Thomas McNeilly from Karalee on Preston, who won Young Liquor Retailer of the Year.

The night also recognised some of the great work happening in WA to reduce alcohol related harm. The Quiet Achiever / Community Service Award was given in recognition of these efforts, to joint-recipients Senior-Sergeant Jeremy Marklew and Port Hedland licensee Brent Rudler, who engineered and led the implementation of the Hedland Liquor Strategy. This strategy strengthened the collaboration between liquor stores and the police to target problem drinkers and was a pre-cursor to the Banned Drinkers Register that has now been rolled out in the Pilbara and Kimberley regions.

The strategy resulted in a 20 per cent reduction in family violence, a 40 per cent reduction in crime and a 40 per cent reduction in St John Ambulance call outs, making Port Hedland one of the safest towns in WA during the height of the pandemic.

Minister Paul Papalia, Rebecca Cutter from Containers for Change and Brent Rudler

Minister for Emergency Services, Small Business, Racing and Gaming and Volunteering, Reece Whitby, commended such an effort and applauded LSA WA for its continued advocacy for the industry.

“These initiatives to reduce alcohol related harm are only possible with the support of the community,” Minister Whitby said.

“Senior-Sergeant Jeremy Marklew and Port Hedland licensee Brent Rudler are two quiet achievers who with support of the LSAWA, have helped the State Government get the Banned Drinkers Register off the ground.”

Minister for Police, Road Safety, Defence and Veterans Issues, Paul Papalia CSC, was also recognised for his commitment to reduce problem drinking with the Banned Drinkers Register during the first term of the McGowan government.

The final sector of the industry recognised on the night were the suppliers and sales representatives. These winners, plus the full list of recipients, is below:

  • Sales Representative of the Year – Beer: Scott Ellis – Coopers
  • Sales Representative of the Year – Wine: Paul Vernon – Accolade
  • Sales Representative of the Year – Spirits: Dan Partington Smith – Diageo
  • Supplier of the Year – Beer: Coopers
  • Supplier of the Year – Wine: Accolade Wines
  • Supplier of the Year – Spirit: Brown- Forman
  • Metropolitan Liquor Store of the Year: Liquor Barons Duncraig
  • Country Liquor Store of the Year: Cape Cellars
  • Overall Liquor Store of the Year: Liquor Barons Duncraig
  • Young Retailer of the Year: Thomas McNeilly – Karalee on Preston
  • Quiet Achiever / Community Service: Brent Rudler & Snr Sgt Jeremy Marklew
Jeremy Marklew and Brent Rudler with Officers from South Hedland Police Station

Brydie Allen

Brydie Allen is the Editor of National Liquor News. She has been with Food and Beverage Media since 2019, when she joined the company as a journalist across National Liquor News, Bars & Clubs, The...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *