Winners of the Best Online Presence Award, the Gage Roads Team

The Liquor Stores Association of Western Australia (LSA WA) has recognised the best retailers and suppliers in the state at its annual Liquor Industry Awards.

More than 330 liquor industry and political leaders gathered in the Grand Ballroom of the Crown Perth to celebrate the 24th annual LSA WA awards night.

In an address made by Minister Paul Papalia he congratulated the award winners and highlighted the value of independent liquor stores in WA.

Papalia explained that WA’s independent liquor stores are important to a number of his portfolios including Tourism, Racing & Gaming and in particular, small business.

The Minister told the audience that as well as the winners of the awards announced during the night, the State was also a big winner from the economic and social returns delivered by WA’s hundreds of small business liquor stores.

LSA WA CEO Peter Peck said this year’s event at the Crown Grand Ballroom was very successful in recognising and celebrating excellence in the liquor industry.

“There are a lot of quiet achievers in the packaged liquor sector who simply never get acknowledged for their hard work and community service,” Peck said.

“The Liquor Industry Awards recognise some of the individuals, teams and families who go above and beyond – sometimes in very difficult circumstances – to provide responsible, diverse and sustainable service in almost every town in WA.

“Our members are typically very happy to simply come together and celebrate the award winners. But the Minister’s powerful speech showing his deep understanding of, and support for, small business made the night even better and provided a big boost to member morale.

“It was not only great for the industry to get together and acknowledge the hard work required to excel but also a true confidence builder to hear from a Minister who shares our view of the importance of independent liquor stores.”

Liquor Stores Association of WA 2018 Liquor Industry Award winners:

 Best Product Promotion

Winner: Treasury Wine Estates

Corporate Member of the Year: Wine

Winner: Samuel Smith and Son

Corporate Member of the Year: Spirits and RTD Suppliers

Winner: Brown Forman

Corporate Member of the Year: Beer

Winner: Premium Beverages

Best Online Presence

Winner: Gage Roads

Young Liquor Retailer of the Year

Winner: James Allen

Sales Representative of the Year

Winner: Simon Randall

Community Service Award

Winner: Nathan Detienne

Liquor Store of the Year Non-Metro

Winner: Cellarbrations Newman

Liquor Store of the Year Metro

Winner: Big Brews Liquor Warnbro

Deborah Jackson

Deb joined Intermedia in 2015 as Editor of National Liquor News and Deputy Editor of The Shout. Since then, she has also worked as the Editor of Beer & Brewer and the New Zealand title, World of Wine....

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *