The Clare Valley Wine Hall of Fame, which is held once a decade to recognise exceptional achievement and innovation in the region’s wine industry, unveiled a suite of award winners and inducted five new legends in a celebration held on Friday 24 May.

The 2024 Clare Valley Wine Hall of Fame Gala Dinner and Award Presentation, held at O’Leary Walker Wines and attended by 150 guests, saw Taylors Chief Winemaker Adam Eggins receive the coveted Winemaker Award.

Speaking about the achievement, Eggins said: “Clare is such a special region, and it’s an incredible honour to be recognised amongst my friends, neighbours and colleagues with the Winemaker Award.

“It has been an exceptionally challenging year for the wine industry, but the individual talents and passions demonstrated through these awards remain a constant source of inspiration.”

A number of other individuals were also recognised for their demonstrated dedication, innovation and expertise in all areas of the wine industry over a significant period of time.

The recipient of the Viticulturist Award was Alister Sandow of Blenheim Proprietors, while Andrew Kenny of Kenny Wines received the Rising Star Award, and Warrick Duthy of Watervale Epicurean Society was awarded Regional Ambassador.

In addition to award winners, five well-known names were inducted into this year’s Clare Valley Hall of Fame, including Peter Barry of Jim Barry Wines, Roly Birks of Wendouree, Neil Paulett of Paulett Wines, Andrew Pike of Pikes Wines and Stephanie Toole of Mount Horrocks Wines.

Mitchell Taylor, Clare Valley Wine & Grape Association Chair and Taylors Wines Managing Director, said of the awards: “The Clare Valley Hall of Fame was a truly special night. It provided an ideal stage to recognise individuals in our region who have demonstrated remarkable dedication and substantial impact in the realms of winemaking, grape growing, marketing and service provision throughout their careers.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *