By Annette Shailer

The 2009 AHA (NSW) Awards for Excellence saw Terrey Hills Tavern take out the prestigious Overall City Hotel of the Year and The Entrance win Overall Country Hotel of the Year, at a ceremony on Monday (Nov 30).

Well-known comedian and television personality Mikey Robins was the MC for the night, which saw 48 winners announced from a field of 215 finalists at Star City Hotel and Casino.

AHA (NSW) chief executive, Sally Fielke, welcomed the more than 860 guests, including numerous politicians such as the Hon Kevin Greene MP, the Hon Tony Kelly MP, the Hon Barry O’Farrell MP and the Hon George Souris MP.

Held since 1993, the awards recognise those that have excelled in specific areas of a hotel’s operations.

The Winston, Coogee Bay Hotel, Cruise Bar and the Clocktower Hotel in Grafton were also high achievers this year, taking out two awards each.

Industry stalwarts John Ross OAM and Doris Bishop from the Hollywood Hotel were both inducted into the AHA (NSW) Hall of Fame.

Fielke said that all hotels in New South Wales should be congratulated on their outstanding achievements over what has been a challenging 12 months for the industry.

“The Awards for Excellence provide the opportunity to showcase our elite venues, which are operated by talented staff and motivated managers,” she said.

“They demonstrate the best of what we are. There is no doubt that hotels are well and truly at the heart of their local community.”

Major award winners

• Chef of the Year – Jason Lucas, Cruise Bar
• Gastronomic Hotel of the Year – Riverview Hotel
• Heritage/Iconic Hotel of the Year – The Australian Hotel and the Rag and Famish Hotel (joint winners)
• Best New/Redeveloped Hotel Country – Clocktower Hotel, Grafton
• Best Tourism Initiative – Bonville International Golf Resort

For a full list of winners, click here.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *