By Annette Shailer

Queensland’s Coolangatta Hotel was crowned Hotel of the Year at the 2009 AHA National Awards for Excellence held on Friday (Jul 17).

The winners were announced during a gala dinner at Conrad Jupiters on the Gold Coast, which was attended by the Federal Minister for Tourism, Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP.

AHA chief executive, Bill Healey, congratulated the winners for their achievements during the current difficult climate.

“Given the financial downturn, it is particularly pleasing to see that high standards have once again been set,” he said.

Other victors on the night include the Park Hyatt Melbourne which took out Overall Hotel of the Year in the accommodation division, while Best Bar Presentation and Service – Metropolitan went to joint winners Ravesi’s on Bondi and The Langham Melbourne, Aria Bar and Lounge.

There were four industry members inducted into the Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame on the night, including Margaret and Cyril Maloney (NSW), Jim Stewart (QLD) and Darryl Washington (VIC).

For a full list of winners, click here.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *