The Australian state finalists for the Angostura Global Cocktail Challenge have been selected, with eight bartenders in each region set to fight it out for a spot in the national final.

According to Britt Page, island2island Brand Manager, the cocktail challenge is one of the most strongly contested competitions in Australia with many well-known bartenders entering for their chance to compete in the global final.

“This year we are defending the global title, so we are looking for the very best to send to Trinidad,” she says. “We are looking for creativity, an excellent knowledge of balancing flavours, professionalism and presentation.”

As well as travelling to the Caribbean, the winner of the Australian national final will pocket $10,000 cash and the position of Angostura Australian Brand Ambassador for 12 months. At the global final, they stand to win an additional US$10,000 and the position of Angostura Global Brand Ambassador.

The latter job if currently filled by last year’s winner and Australian bartender Mike Tomasic (pictured above).

The heats will run in each state throughout July and August, with the eight finalists culled to one who will travel to Sydney to compete on 31 August.


WA FINAL – The Dominion League, 27 July

James Connolly – Angels Cut by Trustee

James Pennefather – Bobeche

Joe Sinagra – Bobeche

Lachlan Robinson – Angels Cut by Trustee

Matt Scales – Trustee

Matthew Biggs – Bobeche

Seb Terkildsen – Lot Twenty

Tom Kearny – Mechanic’s Institute


SA/NT FINAL – Casablabla, 28 July

Cian McNamara – Fumo Blu

Chad Hanson – Sean’s Kitchen

Edward Alder – Loft Wine Bar

Elle Kearns – The Pearl Darwin

Kat Hartley – Hains & Co

Nick Corletto – Hains & Co

Thomas Egan – Fumo Blu

Roman Tazhdynov – The Bibliotheca Bar


NSW/ACT FINAL – The Cliff Dive, 3 August

Andrew Ratcliff – Eau De Vie

Bobby Carey – Earl’s Juke Joint

Elliott Bell – Three Chimneys

Igor Pachi – Assembly Bar

Jake Down – Pocket Bar

Jimmy Irvine – The Baxter Inn

Noriel Calub – AKIBA

Sam Barnett – Hinky Dinks


VIC FINAL – Transit Rooftop Bar, 10 August

Benjamin Harris – Kodiak Club

Daniel Blake – Ms Collins

Emma Borelli – New Gold Mountain

Harley Whittingham – Nobu Melbourne

Misty Hoeta – The George Republic

Nick Selvadurai – Cookie

Paul Ramsay – Dutchess

Sarah Watson – Cookie


QLD FINAL – Elixir Rooftop Bar, 17 August

Aaron Clark – Blackbird

Alex Boon – Jahh Tiger

James Hughes – The Bowery

Lauren Andreassen – Lychee Lounge

Lonneke Bevan – Elixir Rooftop Bar

Matthew O’Sullivan – Press Club

Peter Hollands – The Gresham

Rinna Kato – Blackbird


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *