By Andy Young

This year's Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology's (ASVO) Awards for Excellence are now officially open and the call is out for nominations.

The ASVO awards aim to promote excellence through recognition and reward high achievers in innovative practice; those who are striving to raise practice standards and, individuals who, through their professionalism, provide a model of practice which others seek to emulate. 

In addition to existing awards for viticulturist and winemaker of the year and best viticulture and oenology research papers, a new award has been added to the ASVO Awards for Excellence in 2015. A scholarship will be offered to one talented individual to attend the Australian Wine Research Institute’s highly regarded, four-day intensive Advanced Wine Assessment Course. 

The awards are in five categories:

  • ASVO Viticulturist of the Year Award – sponsored by Bayer CropScience 
  • ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award – sponsored by ASVO 
  • ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia
  • ASVO Best Oenology Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia
  • ASVO AWAC Scholarship – sponsored by Seguin Moreau

Nominations are now open and will close on Friday, 25 September, with the winners announced on a presentation evening on Thursday 19 November. Nomination forms are available on the ASVO Awards website.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *