The recipients of the 2023 ASVO Awards for Excellence were revealed at a ceremony at the National Wine Centre on Wednesday night.

The winners of key awards were:

  • Winemaker of the Year – Mark O’Callaghan
  • Viticulturist of the Year – Dr Catherine Kidman
  • Wine Science & Technology Award – Professor Andrew Clark

Speaking about his win, O’Callaghan said: “When you’re in a community with exemplars like previous winners Sarah Crowe and Ed Carr, it never even crossed my mind that I would be on the radar for Winemaker of the Year.

“I thought it must have been an email scammer when ASVO first contacted me. I occupy a different space in winemaking and some of the best work we do, no one ever knows about, so this really was an unexpected surprise.”

Kidman was also delighted with her win, saying: “To be the recipient of the ASVO viticulturist of the year is quite frankly an incredible feeling. I am a proud advocate of the ASVO and therefore, to be recognised by the society for the work I do in viticulture is a tremendous feeling and I’m very grateful for this award.”

Professor Clark has enjoyed a long academic career at Charles Sturt University, and he said of his awards: “I’m honoured to be considered for this award. I have a great passion for conducting wine chemistry research, alongside my research team and collaborators, and to be involved in the education of the enthusiastic next-generation winemakers and viticulturists.”

Andy Clarke, President of ASVO, added: “The 2023 ASVO Award winners demonstrate outstanding professional excellence and are recognised for the significant contribution they make to the wine industry. They do this by developing new knowledge, inspiring the next generation, and fostering an environment where excellence prevails.

“My sincere congratulations are extended to this year’s award winners, Mark O’Callaghan, Cath Kidman and Andrew Clark who embody all of these values and more.”

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *