The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) has announced the finalists in its 2021 Awards for Excellence.

The awards, which have been running since 2012 recognise the achievements of dedicated and professional individuals in the wine industry.

The finalists in the ASVO Viticulturist of the Year are:

  • Darren Fahey, NSW Department of Primary Industries
  • Ben Harris, Treasury Wine Estates.
  • Richard Leask, Leask Agri

The finalist in the ASVO Winemaker of the Year are:

  • Sam Connew, Stargazer Wine
  • Alex Cassegrain, Cassegrain Wines
  • John Hughes, Rieslingfreak

Brooke Howell, ASVO President said “It is fantastic to see so many individuals in the Australian grape and wine community that are willing to go the extra mile to help others. The finalists for Viticulturist and Winemaker of the Year in 2021 are examples of this – seeking out new, innovative ways to improve their business processes, whilst willingly sharing their knowledge and experiences with their peers to ensure the industry as a whole can grow.

“I congratulate each finalist for their achievements to date and look forward to following any future endeavours”.

The winners of the ASVO Awards for Excellence will be announced on Wednesday, November 17.

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *