By Amy Looker

Chardonnay and Shiraz have been named the standout varietals of the 2012 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show.

Backing up its recent resurgence, Chardonnay picked up 22 gold medals at this year’s show across a range of regions and differing styles.

Western Australia’s Vasse Felix 2010 Heytesbury Chardonnay picked up the Albert Chan Memorial Prize for Best White Wine of Show along with the Four Seasons Hotel Sydney Perpetual Trophy for Best Premium White Wine.

Victoria’s Mount Langi Ghiran Vineyard flew the flag for Shiraz, picking up the Macquarie Group Perpetual Trophy for Best Wine of Show, the Dr Gilbert Philips Memorial Perpetual Trophy for Best Red Wine of Show, and the Liquor Merchants Association of Australia Perennial Trophy for Best Varietal Wine – Shiraz for its 2010 Cliff Edge Shiraz.

Chairman of judges, Iain Riggs, said Chardonnay, Shiraz and Semillon were the varietals that most impressed the panel of judges.

"The Rathbone family is to be congratulated on a successful Wine Show with Mount Langi Ghiran Vineyard being awarded three gold medals, one silver and a bronze medal in various Shiraz classes," Riggs said.

"It was interesting to see some different winemaking techniques emerging for Shiraz. The use of the whole bunch in the fermentation process featured in the regions producing medium-bodied styles."

The McCarthy Shield for Most Successful Exhibitor was presented to McWilliam’s Wines for the fifth consecutive year.

The winners were announced at a presentation last night, while the celebrations continue today at the 2012 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show Wine Communicators of Australia lunch.

More than 2,240 wines were entered into this year’s show, with an impressive 43 per cent of entries receiving a medal.

For a full list of winners from the 2012 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show click here.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *