The first four finalists in the Winemaker of the Year award have been announced in the first stage of the annual Gourmet Traveller WINE program.

Chester Osborn from d’Arenberg in McLaren Vale has been recognised as one of the most creative and charismatic winemakers in the country, while long-time Peter Lehmann winemaker Andrew Wigan also made the grade.

Houghton winemaking duo Rob Bowen and Ross Pamment are also among the finalists, while Rick McIntyre from Moorooduc Estate in the Mornington Peninsula completes the first four.

Held in conjunction with Kemenys, the coveted title celebrates the top eight winemakers from around the country who are then profiled in the magazine.

The remaining four finalists will be revealed prior to the release of the August/September edition of the magazine, while the winners will be announced at an event in October.

Over the 11 years in which the award has been running, four winning winemakers have been based in South Australia, three in Victoria, two in New South Wales and one in Western Australia.

The awards are judged by a panel of the magazine’s contributors, consisting of Peter Forrestal (chairman), Peter Bourne, Nick Bullied MW, Andrew Caillard MW, Huon Hooke and Sophie Otton.  

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *