By Annette Shailer

At this year’s AFL night of nights, ‘Brownlow Medallist’ won’t be the only crown up for grabs with Crown Lager shifting the spotlight from the wives and girlfriends back to the men for the second Crown Lager Best Dressed Man Award.

Fashion – both good and bad – has long been a highlight of the Brownlow night and Crown Lager aims to help raise the bar on the men’s side, and ensure the event’s black tie dress code is alive and well.

There was serious competition last year from the likes of Nathan Brown, Marc Murphy and Daniel Rich, however it was Jimmy Bartel, looking dapper in a Hugo Boss suit, who took out the title of Crown Lager Best Dressed Man in 2009.

The 2010 judging panel will again be headed by fashion identity Melissa Hoyer and fashion journalist Kate Waterhouse, who will be front and centre on the Brownlow red carpet to determine who is the most fashion forward ‘forward’ in Australian football.

“Last year, the boys really turned it up and we saw some outstanding competition with Jimmy Bartel’s ‘Mad Men’ style really catching our eye. These boys are a competitive bunch by nature and so I’m expecting it to be an even tighter contest with their style this year,” Hoyer said.


Nathan Brown, Jimmy Bartel and Daniel Rich at the 2009 event

AFL CEO, Andrew Demetriou, said formal black tie is mandatory for all guests attending this year’s Brownlow Medal Count.

“The Brownlow Medal Count is the most prestigious awards night on the AFL calendar and to uphold its tradition I look forward to seeing all the players and guests looking their best in traditional black tie,” Demetriou said.

The official announcement of the Crown Lager Best Dressed Man will take place on the night.

The Brownlow event will be aired live across Australia on Monday (Sept 20) and will be hosted by Stephen Quartermain.


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *