The annual George Mackey Memorial Trophy has gone to the 2005 Penfolds Yattarna Chardonnay, as announced yesterday (December 4).

Recognising Australia’s export wine of the year, the trophy is presented by the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation (AWBC) and initial nomination for the award is through the routine inspection process by AWBC wine inspectors.

To qualify for final selection, 200 cases of the product must have been exported.

The 2005 Penfolds Yattarna Chardonnay was selected from more than 17,000 entries and comes on the back of a swag of awards for the wine, including Best Chardonnay over 10 English Pounds at this year’s Decanter World Wine Awards.

AWBC acting CEO Jock Osborne said it appeared there was a Chardonnay renaissance, with some outstanding examples coming from the Adelaide Hills in particular.

The trophy was established in memory of a former chairman of the AWBC, George Mackey, who died in office in 1990.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *