Following the successful growth of the YCK Precinct in Sydney’s CBD a number of night-time districts around Sydney will receive up to $200,000 each as part of the NSW Government’s Uptown Grant program.

Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy, John Graham, said 21 successful districts across eight different local government areas have been successful in gaining the funding.

“This is an exciting opportunity for groups of businesses and creatives in areas across Sydney who’ve laid out their visions to create well-known precincts with unique offerings for locals and visitors to enjoy,” Graham said.

“The Uptown Grant Program allows these districts to hire dedicated resources to manage their combined initiatives, including events, marketing and operations.”

Recipients include Harris Park, an LGBTQIA+ Rainbow District in Darlinghurst and a Koreatown in Eastwood, plus other precincts like Brookvale Arts District and DuskDown at Freshwater on the Northern Beaches, 

NSW 24-Hour Economy Commissioner Michael Rodrigues said districts can bring their visions to life and deliver experiences that celebrate what’s best about their community.

“The Uptown Program is a key element of our 24-Hour Economy Strategy, encouraging place-based collaboration, branding and storytelling within districts, and providing a platform for them to innovate with reduced risk and ultimately become self-sustainable in the future,” he said.

The Uptown Accelerator has also returned for 2023 with applications open until 3pm on July 20, 2023 for the expanded eight-week program of workshops scheduled to take place from August to October 2023.

The 21 recipients of the Uptown Grant Program are:

  • Balmain Rozelle
  • Brookvale Arts District (BAD)
  • Chippendale Collective
  • Eddy (Central Station and Eddy Avenue Precinct, Sydney) 
  • Green² (Green Square) 
  • Haymarket Precinct 
  • HQ Sydney (Hollywood Quarter Sydney – Precinct of Commonwealth, Campbell and Wentworth Streets, Surry Hills) 
  • KXQ (King’s Cross Quarter, Kings Cross) 
  • Koreatown (Eastwood) 
  • Paddo Collective (Paddington) 
  • Stanley Street District (North Darlinghurst)
  • YCK Laneways Association Inc (Sydney CBD) 
  • Rainbow Precinct (Darlinghurst) 
  • Pyrmont+Ultimo24/7 – Powered by Pyrmont Ultimo Chamber of Commerce (Pyrmont, Ultimo) 
  • UpTown Sydney CBD 
  • Walsh Bay Arts Precinct 
  • 2077 A.D. – Hornsby After Dark 
  • DuskDown (Freshwater) 
  • New Sydney Waterfront Company District Team (Sydney Harbour) 
  • Little India Harris Park Business Association Inc (Harris Park)
  • The Gathering (Blacktown)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *