Australia’s leading hotel bars and bartenders are lining up for national gongs following the announcement of the finalists in the 2008 HM Awards for Hotel & Accommodation Excellence.

The HM Awards are in their sixth year and recognise accommodation excellence in 39 categories for people and properties across Australia, New Zealand and selected South Pacific countries.

The gala presentation dinner for the 2008 HM Awards is being held on August 14 at Luna Park’s Crystal Palace in Sydney. For tickets, phone 02 8586 6204 or email James Wilkinson.

The finalists in the bar categories at the 2008 HM Awards are:

Hotel Bar of the Year
Blu Horizon, Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, NSW
Globe Bar, The Observatory Hotel, Sydney, NSW
harbourbar, Park Hyatt Sydney, NSW
Locanda, Rydges Melbourne, VIC
Mink, The Prince, St Kilda, VIC
Room 81, Sofitel Gold Coast, QLD
Water Bar, Blue Sydney, NSW
Zeta Bar, Hilton Sydney, NSW

Hotel Bartender / Bar Manager of the Year
Andrew Bayliss, Crowne Plaza Alice Springs, NT
Brett Clarke, Zeta Bar, Hilton Sydney, NSW
Jye Glaskin, Bouzy Bar, Smith’s Beach Resort, Yallingup, WA
Kamal Krishna, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, NSW
Rebecca Everingham, Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, NSW
Simon Keene, Palazzo Versace, QLD
Stuart Reeves, harbourbar, Park Hyatt Sydney, NSW
Sylvain Pasdeloup, Room 81, Sofitel Gold Coast, QLD

To see a complete list of finalists, click here.


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *