By Amy Looker

Members of the Hunter Valley wine industry gathered to celebrate its stars last week (Friday 27) at the Hunter Valley Wine Industry Awards.

Don McWilliam of McWilliam’s Wines was awarded the title of Hunter Valley Wine Industry Living Legend, while Liz Jackson from First Creek Wines took out the title of Winemaker of the Year.

Hunter Valley Wine Industry Association president, Andrew Margan, said the winners represented the high caliber of the people working in the Hunter Valley wine industry.

“We are so proud and honoured to have such a talented group of people representing the Hunter Valley. This year’s winners are more than deserving, and they have really excelled in such a highly competitive industry,” said Margan.

Last year the Hunter Valley Living Legend award went to Christopher Barnes in recognition of almost 40 years spent working in the Hunter Valley wine industry.

Brokenwood’s winemaker, PJ Charteris, won the 2010 Winemaker of the Year award.

The winners are:

  • Hunter Valley Wine Industry Living Legend: Don McWilliam, McWilliam’s Wines
  • Hunter Valley Wine Society Winemaker of the Year: Liz Jackson, First Creek Wines
  • Laffort Rising Star of the Year: Jeff Byrne, Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard
  • Viticulturist of the Year: Liz Riley, Vitibit
  • CBA Local Business Banking Cellar Door of the Year: Pepper Tree Wines
  • Heritage Awards:
  • The Ben Ean Winery, The Old Still House
  • Mount Pleasant Winery, The Maurice O’shea Mount Pleasant label


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *