James Halliday AM, in association with Wine Companion magazine and Hardie Grant Publishing, has announced the winners of the Qantas epiQure James Halliday Australian Wine Companion Awards.

The second annual awards celebrated the industry’s finest wines, as rated in the 2015 James Halliday Australian Wine Companion – released today. 

“It’s with great pleasure we take the time to recognise Australia’s remarkable wines and producers," commented Halliday.

"The 2012 and ’13 vintages produced wonderful wines from both long-established wineries and newly-arrived winemakers – the awards celebrate this diversity in our industry.”

Six major awards were presented: 

  • Wine of the Year: 2011 Xanadu Stevens Road Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon, WA (Sponsored by Qantas epiQure)
  • Winery of the Year: Hentley Farm,Barossa Valley, SA (Sponsored by SMEG)
  • Dark Horse of the Year: Haselgrove Wines, McLaren Vale, SA (Sponsored by Nikon)
  • New Winery of the Year: Flowstone, Margaret River, WA (Sponsored by Kennards Wine Storage)
  • Winemaker of the Year: Castle Rock Estate’s Rob Diletti, WA
  • Best Value Winery of the Year: Hoddles Creek Estate, Yarra Valley, VIC

The additional varietal winners were:2004 Tahbilk 1927 Vines Marsanne, 97 points (Other Whites and Blends), 2013 Clonakilla Shiraz Viognier, 98 points (Shiraz Viognier), 2012 Yarra Yering Dry Red Wine No. 2, 98 points (Shiraz Family), 2012 Cullen Diana Madeline, 98 points (Cabernet Family), NV Rockford Black Shiraz, 97 points (Sparkling Red), 2013 Bellarmine Pemberton Riesling Select, 96 points (Sweet Wine). 

The invitation-only event was held at The Park in Albert Park, with guests continuing celebrations at the newly opened Coppersmith in South Melbourne. 

Attendees included the Hon. Richard Colbeck, Parliamentary Secretary to the Federal Minister for Agriculture and Tasmanian Senator, Channel 7 presenter Helen Kapalos, former V8 Supercar driver and Channel 7 personality Mark Skaife, CEO of the Grand Prix Corporation Andrew Westacott, former Premier of Victoria Jeff Kennett, legendary winemakers Ed Carr and Jim Chatto.

For all details about the awards and the event gallery, visit www.winecompanion.com.au/awards

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *