By Stefanie Collins, editor bars&clubs

The world-renowned Lark Distillery has taken home the Best Australian Distiller trophy at the inaugural Australian Distilled Spirits Awards (ADSA).

At a ceremony last night, the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) awarded six category trophies, as well as the overall distillery award. The ADSA came about after the success of the Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards’ distilled spirits and liqueurs categories, and in recognition of the changing nature and significant growth of the emerging Australian spirits industry.

The RASV believe the awards give spirits producers the opportunity to promote their spirits and liqueurs to industry and consumers, as well as a chance to benchmark themselves against the industry as a whole and gain feedback from industry experts.

The 2015 judging panel included head judge Nick Stock, Craig Daniels (President of the

Malt Whisky Society of Australia), Vernon Chalker (founder of Melbourne's Gin Palace), and Bombay Sapphire's Sebastian Reaburn.

The Major Trophy Winners:

Champion Whisky – Limeburners Peated Single Malt Barrell M227, Great Southern Distilling Company WA

Champion Rum – Spike's Reserve, Hoochery Distillery WA

Champion Gin – The West Winds Gin The Sabre, The Tailor Made Spirits Company WA

Champion Alternative Spirit – Zeus Oyzo, Edgemill Group Vic

Champion Brandy – Black Bottle XO Brandy, Vok Beverages SA

Champion Liqueur – Pecan & Hazelnut Liqueur, Castle Glen Australia QLD

Best Australian Distiller – Lark Distillery Tas

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *