The Liquor Stores Association NSW & ACT (LSA) has announced the finalists for its 2017 LSA Retail Liquor Awards for Excellence.

The awards acknowledge the efforts of those who have excelled in the retail liquor industry throughout the year, with the winners to be revealed at the Awards Presentation Dinner on Friday, 17 November.

LSA Executive Director Michael Waters said: “This year marks the 21st annual Retail Liquor Industry Awards, and on behalf of the Association, I take this opportunity to thank all members who took the time to nominate, as well as congratulate all awards finalists.

“Our annual Awards Presentation Dinner continues to go from strength to strength, thanks to the support of our members and industry colleagues, and I encourage those who have not previously attended to make the effort to come along, be proud and acknowledge the achievements of the people and companies in our industry, and enjoy delicious food, excellent beverages, fantastic entertainment and most importantly, great company.

“The LSA Board of Management, staff and I look forward to celebrating industry excellence with members and industry colleagues on 17 November, at what promises to be another cracking LSA event.”

This year’s finalists are:

Top 50 Liquor Stores:

  • Bermagui Cellars
  • Billabong Bottleshop
  • BWS Albion Park Rail
  • BWS Colebee
  • BWS Kaleen
  • BWS Singleton Drive
  • Camperdown Cellars Kingston Road
  • Camperdown Cellars Parramatta Road
  • Cellarbrations at Bungendore
  • Cellarbrations at Cammeray
  • Cellarbrations at Lane Cove
  • Cellarbrations at Lawson
  • Cellarbrations at Scone
  • Cellarbrations at Wadalba
  • Chambers Cellars Avalon
  • Chambers Cellars Bowral
  • Chambers Cellars Clovelly
  • Chambers Cellars Greystanes
  • Chambers Cellars Meadowbank Plaza
  • Chambers Cellars Lane Cove
  • Chambers Cellars Greenwich
  • Chambers Cellars Yass
  • Clareville Cellars
  • Corkscrew Cellars Darlinghurst
  • Corkscrew Cellars Rose Bay
  • Dan Murphy’s Charlestown
  • Express Liquor Newcastle
  • Fennell Bay Cellars
  • Hammondville Cellars
  • Huskisson Drive In
  • L’Maestro
  • Liquor Emporium Belmore
  • Liquor Legends Emerald Beach
  • Liquor Legends Vincentia
  • Porter’s Liquor Bexley
  • Porter’s Liquor Hornsby Heights
  • Porter’s Liquor Ryde (Midway Cellars)
  • Porter’s Liquor Woronora Heights
  • Porter’s Liquor Yagoona
  • Red Bottle Central
  • Red Bottle Pitt Street
  • Tighes Hill Cellars
  • The Bay Boozatorium
  • The Bottle-O Wickham
  • The Cellar Bangalow
  • The Crafty Club Ashfield Mall
  • The Wine Society Castle Cove
  • The Wine Society Ultimo
  • Vine, Providore of Fine Wine
  • Woodville Road Cellars

New Liquor Store of the Year:

  • BWS Canterbury Plaza
  • BWS Cranebrook
  • BWS Spring Farm
  • Chambers Cellars Milsons Point
  • Cutty Cellars Bankstown
  • Dan Murphy’s Mosman
  • The Drink Hive

Online Liquor Store of the Year:


Liquor Store Owner of the Year:

  • Dan Mackie, The Bottle-O Hazelbrook | Cellarbrations at Lawson
  • Gary Metters, Corkscrew Cellars Sylvania Waters
  • Paul & Michelle Cains, Urban Cellars Curtin | Prohibition the Bottleshop
  • Richard Kelsey, Beer Cartel
  • Ross Rocca, Porter’s Liquor Ryde (Midway Cellars)
  • Steve Ververis, Liquor Emporium Group

Liquor Store Manager of the Year:

  • Brady Blakey, Liquor Legends Charnwood
  • Liette Snow, The Cellar Bangalow
  • Morgan Drake, Cellarbrations at Lawson
  • Nerissa Budynek, Dan Murphy’s Charlestown
  • Sherrie Hayes, BWS Werrington
  • Stephen Foschi, Billabong Bottleshop

Young Liquor Retailer of the Year:

  • Ashley Elphick, Dan Murphy’s Casula
  • Shanais Marcus-Hogue, Dan Murphy’s Erina
  • Steven Dinnell, Porter’s Liquor Rydne (Midway Cellars)
  • Tegan Clemmow, Cellarbrations at Gold Creek
  • Toby Morrissey, Dan Murphy’s Double Bay
  • Zak Anderson, BWS Lane Cove

Excellence in Innovation:

  • Chambers Cellars Forest Lodge (Tramsheds)
  • Liquor Emporium Alexandria
  • Plonk Liquor Fyshwick
  • Prohibition the Bottleshop
  • Red Bottle Pitt Street
  • The Drink Hive
  • Thirroul Village Cellars

Finalists – Supplier Award Categories

Beer Supplier of the Year:

  • Asahi Premium Beverages
  • Carlton & United Breweries
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Coopers Premium Beverages
  • Lion Beer Australia
  • Phoenix Beers
  • Young Henry’s

Wine Supplier of the Year:

  • Accolade Wines
  • Australian Vintage Limited
  • Casella Family Brands
  • De Bortoli Wines
  • Pernod Ricard Australia
  • Robert Oatley Wines
  • Samuel Smith & Son
  • Treasury Wine Estates
  • Young & Rashleigh Wine Merchants

Spirits Supplier of the Year:

  • Asahi Premium Beverages
  • Brown-Forman Australia
  • Campari Australia
  • Cerbaco Distribution
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Diageo Australia
  • Pernod Ricard Australia
  • Vanguard Luxury Brands
  • William Grant & Sons

Services Supplier of the Year:

  • DFK Crosbie
  • Frucor Beverages
  • Hatzis Cusack Lawyers
  • JB Metro Distribution
  • Manenti Quinlan & Associates
  • REST Industry Super
  • Snack Brands Australia
  • The Village Pantry
  • Quattro Risk Services

Banner Group of the Year:

  • Bottler
  • Cellarbrations
  • Liquor Legends
  • Liquor Stax Australia
  • Local Liquor
  • Porter’s Liquor
  • Super Cellars
  • The Bottle-O

Liquor Wholesaler of the Year:

  • Australian Liquor Marketers
  • Independent Liquor Group
  • Kollaras & Co.

Beer Representative of the Year:

  • Cassandra Kennedy, Asahi Premium Beverages
  • Darren Towler, Lion Beer Australia
  • Greg Carr, Carlton & United Breweries
  • Heath Griggs, Lion Beer Australia
  • Jason Clements, Coopers Premium Beverages
  • Justin Camilleri, Asahi Premium Beverages
  • Matthew Slade, Lion Beer Australia
  • Sarah Oxley, Asahi Premium Beverages

Wine Representative of the Year:

  • Chris Harper, Pernod Ricard Australia
  • Eugene Casey, Young & Rashleigh Wine Merchants
  • Kieran Crabbe, Samuel Smith & Son
  • Mark Davies, Casella Family Brands
  • Paul Moutzouris, Accolade Wines
  • Rebecca Larfield, Treasury Wine Estates
  • Stilly Merianos, De Bortoli Wines
  • Steve Carrero, Berton Vineyards

Spirits Representative of the Year:

  • Ben Hallett, William Grant & Sons
  • Darren Miller, William Grant & Sons
  • Kevin Delaney, Diageo Australia
  • Krystle Thornton, Asahi Premium Beverages
  • Michael Connell, Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Paul Codner, Brown-Forman Australia
  • Peter Sullivan, Pernod Ricard Australia
  • Rod Franklin, Brown-Forman Australia

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *