Nick O’Leary’s 2013 Bolaro Shiraz from the Canberra District took home the trophy for the 2014 NSW Wine of the Year on Friday.

O’Leary, whose winery is located on the southern escarpment of Lake George near Bungendore, sources all his fruit from small individual parcels located in and around the Canberra District.

Due for release this month, the third release Nick O’Leary 2013 Bolaro Shiraz is a single vineyard wine from the acclaimed Fischer vineyard located to the east of Murrumbateman on free draining alluvial shale soils. 

Tom Ward, president NSW Wine (far left) and Nick O'Leary (centre) with Friday's hosts, the team from television series Plonk

One of the highest vineyards in the area, this site produces low yielding, immensely concentrated fruit, creating wines of structure and power.

The 2014 NSW Wine of the Year was selected from the 12 category winners:-

Best Young Semillon                                
Silkman Wines 2014 Semillon (Hunter Valley) (RRP $25)

Best Young Riesling                                  
Mount Majura Vineyard 2014 Riesling (Canberra District) (RRP $27)

Best Young Sauvignon Blanc                
Colmar Estate 2014 Sauvignon Blanc (Orange) (RRP $24)

Best Young Chardonnay                        
Barwang Wines “842” 2012 Chardonnay (Tumbarumba) (RRP $35)

Best Young White Other Varieties      
Bimbadgen Estate 2014 Vermentino (Hunter Valley) (RRP $24)

Best Mature Dry White                          
McGuigan Wines Vineyard Select 2005 Semillon (Hunter Valley) (RRP $65)

Best Sweet Wine                                      
Calabria Family Wines “3 Bridges” 2008 Botrytis Semillon (Riverina) (RRP $25)

Best Sparkling Wine                                
Charles Sturt University 2010 Reserve Sparkling (Tumbarumba) (RRP $28)

Best Young Cabernet Sauvignon        
Moppity Vineyards Estate 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon (RRP $30)

Best Young Shiraz                                    
Nick O’Leary Wines 2013 Bolaro Shiraz (Canberra District) (RRP $55)

Best Young Red Other Varieties          
Calabria Family Wines 2013 Private Bin Saint Macaire (Riverina) (RRP $15)

Best Mature Red                                      
Nugan Estate Manuka Grove 2010 Vineyard Durif (Riverina) (RRP $23)

Tamburlaine Wines was also recognised for the Best Organic Wine of Show for its Tamburlaine Organic Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2014 (Orange, NSW) (RRP $33).

The winner of the 2013 Graham Gregory Award was Chris Barnes for his outstanding commitment and contribution to the industry. 

Year on year entries continue to rise and this year a record 828 wines were judged, 148 of which were deemed to be of silver or gold medal standard. 

The twelve trophies were awarded across six NSW wine regions, representing both high altitude cooler regions to the warmer climate regions and across a broad range of varieties and styles. 

Many of the wines were from the standout 2013 and 2014 vintages that the industry has just experienced, and interestingly were largely from small and medium family-owned wine companies.

“New South Wales Wine Awards continues to uncover exciting vinous gems each year as a result of the combination of established and innovative winemakers from the incredible array of terroirs we are blessed with. This is particularly exciting given the modern consumer is looking for quality with a difference. It would be great to see local wine trade and sommeliers pick up on this trend,” said chair of judges PJ Charteris in his first year in the role. 

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *