By Ian Neubauer

Peter Lehmann’s ‘Margaret’ Barossa Semillon 2002 was named the overall winner of the Sydney International Wine Competition (SIWC) at a black-tie awards night held at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney on Saturday night.

The Barossa Semillon won three trophies, including the Joy Lake Memorial Trophy for Best Wine of the Competition, The Wine Society Perpetual Trophy for Best White Table Wine of the Competition, and the Schenker Australia Perpetual Trophy for Best Medium Bodied Dry White Wine.

Also highly awarded was Adelaide Hills Setanta Cuchulain Shiraz 2005, which won the runner up to the Best Wine of Competition Trophy, the Mark deHavilland Memorial Trophy for Best Red Table Wine of Competition, and the Fesq & Company Perpetual Trophy for Best Medium Bodied Dry Red Table Wine.

Three New Zealand labels took home trophies at the event. They include Southern Eclipse Sauvignon Blanc 2007 for Best Sauvignon Blanc, Gibbston Highgate Estate ‘Soultaker’ Pinot Noir 2006 for Best Still Rosé of the Competition, and Jackson Estate Botrytis Riesling 2006, awarded the Myra Lehmann Perpetual Trophy for the Best Dessert Wine.

Best Sparkling Wine of the Competition was awarded to Champagne Lanson Gold Label Vintage 1996 from France, while Champagne Piper Heidsieck Cuvée Brut NV, also from France, won the John Marris Perpetual Trophy for a Non-Australian Wine of Outstanding Quality. The Red Radke Perpetual Trophy for the Best Wine from a Lesser Recognised Grape Variety went to Italy’s Caldora Yuma Montepulciano d’Abruzoo DOC 2004.

The SIWC trophy winners will be exhibited for public tasting at the Menzies Hotel on March 15. For full results of the competition including comments from judges on each award-winning wine, click here.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *