By Amy Looker

Pinot Noir was the star of the 2013 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show.

Hailing from Tasmania, the 2011 Bay of Fires Pinot Noir was the clear standout at this year's show, taking home the Macquarie Group Perpetual Trophy for Best Wine of the Show, along with the Dr Gilbert Phillips Memorial Trophy for the Best Red Wine of Show and the Geoffrey Crundall Perpetual Trophy for Best Varietal Wine – Pinot Noir.

Bay of Fires winemaker, Peter Dredge, said it was great for the brand to be recognised among some of Australia's most awarded wines.   

"We are delighted to receive these awards. The Bay of Fires winemaking team have been working hard both in the vineyards and the winery to create a range of high quality wines which represent classic Tasmanian styles," said Dredge. 

"Winning trophies such as these helps to reinforce the dedication, patience and superior skills of our winemaking team."

Last year's Jimmy Watson winner, the 2011 Best's Bin 1 Shiras, also continued its winning streak, taking home the Fine Wine Partners Perpetual Trophy.

In the white wine classes, Peter Lehmann Wines won the Albert Chan Memorial Prize for Best White Wine of Show and the Four Seasons Hotel Sydney Perpetual Trophy for the Best Premium Dry White Wine two years and older for its 2008 Wigan Riesling. 

Peter Lehmann Wines also picked up the Douglas Lamb Perpetual Trophy for the Best Varietal Wine – Riesling for its 2010 Wigan Riesling, as well as a further 16 medals, including four gold in a variety of classes. 

Margaret River winery Devil's Lair also received outstanding results, taking home three trophies. The 2011 Margaret River Hidden Cave Cabernet Shiraz won two trophies – the Leslie Kemeny Memorial Perpetual Trophy for Best Two Year Old Premium Red Wine and the John Swann Perpetual Trophy for Best Premium Dry Red Wine Two Years and Older – while 2011 Fifth Leg Shiraz won the Wine Communicators of Australia Perpetual Trophy for Best Large Volume Dry Red Wine.

Also from the Treasury Wine Estates portfolio, Seppelt Great Western collected a gold medal and the Liquor Merchants Association of Australia Perennial Trophy for the Seppelt Victorian Shiraz 2011 in the category of best varietal wine, and Rosemount Estate collected the Rudy Komon Memorial Perpetual Trophy and three gold medals.

Seppelt senior winemaker Adam Carnaby said the accolade "really proves the exceptional skills for the Seppelt viticulture and winemaking teams during a challenging 2011 vintage".

Rosemount chief winemaker, Matt Koch, said the result "bears testament to both the teams and our region’s great wines where we can also lead the charge for alternate varietals, including the Mataro and our GMG blend of Graciano, Mataro and Grenache".

Wine Show Committee chair, Lyndey Milan, said that the Sydney Royal Wine Show was committed to remaining relevant for its exhibitors and meaningful for consumers. 

"We constantly review our competition to remain at the forefront of the Australian industry," she said. 

"This year we introduced two exhibition classes – one for red wine and one for white wine, for new and emerging styles or grape varieties. We aim to be inclusive and highly value the viticulturalists and winemakers of Australia."

The judges tasted over 2300 Australian wine, submitted by 372 exhibitors, awarding 36 trophies and 1024 medals.

For a complete breakdown of trophy, gold, silver and bronze medal winners, click here

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *