By Stefanie Collins, editor b&c

With the 2016 Australian Distilled Spirits Awards (ADSA) now open for entries, the organisers have announced the creation of the Champion Australian Small Batch Spirit Trophy and three new classes.

The only awards of their kind in Australia, the ADSA is now in its second year after launching as a standalone outside of the Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards.

The awards allow the growing number of distilleries across the country to benchmark their spirits and liqueurs against their peers.

With the craft category growth across the country the new Champion Small Batch Spirit Trophy will acknowledge specialty small-scale production spirits and liqueurs that are made in limited quantities.

The addition the will bring the number of major trophies in the program to nine.

Mark O’Sullivan, CEO of The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), says it recognises the high quality small batch production that is occurring in Australia.

“Australian distillers are renowned the world over for their inventive and superior crafting of small batch spirits,” he says. “Our awards are continually evolving to respond to the rapidly changing industry so this new award was introduced to reflect the growing trend of small batch distillation.”

The 2016 ADSA also sees the addition of classes for Whisky Liqueur, Rum Liqueur, and Cream Liqueur.

Judging of the awards will take place on April 12-13 to determine gold, silver and bronze medal winners, as well as the Champion Trophies, with the panel of industry expert judges led by head judge Jason Crawley of The Drinks Cabinet.

The presentation of the ADSA trophies will take place on April 21, to be followed by the first-ever Australian Distilled Spirits Awards exhibitor and trade tasting on April 22, where attendees will have the opportunity to taste medal and trophy winning products.


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *