The finalists of the sixth annual Australian Women in Wine Awards (AWIWA) have been revealed, ahead of the awards ceremony which takes place on Tuesday 24 November.

Founding AWIWA Advisory Board member and wine journalist, Jeni Port, said with new names and amazing tales of resilience this year’s collection of entries had been particularly strong.

“I think this is something that brings this year’s awards into their own. We asked entrants to tell us about their year, including the challenges, and they all rose to the occasion,” Port said.

“What’s more, their businesses often thrived. And they learnt so much more about themselves and their abilities. It’s been wonderful to read their stories.”

The finalists in each award category are (in alphabetical order by surname):

Cellar Door Person of the Year – sponsored by Langton’s

  • Jess Greatwich – Krondorf Creek Farm (SA)
  • Paris Hokin – Arlewood Estate (WA)
  • Samantha Mitchell – First Drop Wines (SA)

Winemaker of the Year – sponsored by Tonnellerie Saint Martin

  • Natalie Cleghorn – Yalumba & Hill-Smith Family Vineyards (SA)
  • Natalie Fryer – Bellebonne Wine Company (Tas)
  • Cate Looney – Brown Family Wine Group (Vic)

Viticulturist of the Year – sponsored by Wine Australia

  • Brooke Howell – Yalumba Family Winemakers (SA)
  • Cath Kidman – Wynns Coonawarra (SA)
  • Alexandra Miller – Voyager Estate (WA)

Champion of Diversity & Equality – sponsored by Australian Grape & Wine

  • Curly Haslam-Coates – Vintage Tasmania (Tas)
  • Helen Strachan – Pernod Ricard Winemakers (SA)

Owner/Operator of the Year – sponsored by Bacchus Academy

  • Melissa Brown – Gemtree Wines (SA)
  • Laura Carter – Unico Zelo (SA)
  • Lisa Margan – Margan Estate (NSW)

Marketer of the Year – sponsored by denomination

  • Trish Barry – Mastermind Consulting (NSW)
  • Emily Hay – Barossa Grape & Wine Association (SA)
  • Kristen Zerk – Z Wine (SA)

The seventh award category, Woman of Inspiration, is a judges’ choice award determined by the AWIWA Advisory Board. No entry is required, and the winner will be announced on the awards night of Tuesday 24 November.

The winners of each award category will be announced at the 2020 AWIWA ceremony which – as has been done every year since its inception in 2015 – will be live streamed across the world. This year the awards is 100 per cent virtual and the live stream will take place via the Australian Women in Wine Facebook page.

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *