Entries are closing April 14 for the national awards for emerging talented professionals in the hospitality industry. 

Since 2005 the Electrolux Appetite for Excellence Awards have been on a mission to inspire, educate and nurture future foodservice industry leaders through unique education and career opportunities.

The program draws on the experience and skills of the judges, with this year’s panel including culinary heavyweights Andrew McConnell (Cutler&Co, Builders Arms Hotel), Christine Manfield (Universal), Mark Best (Marque), Peter Gilmore (Quay) and Luke Mangan (co-founder). 

Program director Phee Gardner told TheShout the awards aim to embrace the whole of the increasingly dynamic foodservice sector.

“Electrolux Appetite for Excellence was created to benefit the hospitality industry overall – from professionals working in fine dining and regional restaurants to the ever-growing number of quality city and country gastro pubs. 

“There is young industry talent working across Australia and we encourage each and every one of them to get involved – they will benefit both personally and professionally.”

This year’s search for the Electrolux Young Chef, Young Waiter and Young Restaurateur will again provide an opportunity for mentorship by some of the country’s most acclaimed food professionals.

“You’re not going to be an overnight sensation… it’s about working for good people and building up your skills,” explains Peter Gilmore, Quay. 

“The Electrolux Appetite for Excellence program is an extension of this: building a network between front and back of house, strengthening the two as a functioning team. With a really strong love of the industry and a real philosophy of what the restaurateur wants to convey to his or her audience, one can go far.”

John Brown, Managing Director Electrolux Home Products, says the program’s history has benefited from seeing the resulting success of previous winners.

“Electrolux Appetite for Excellence is a unique and valuable hospitality program that we are extremely proud to have supported for the past five years.

“Nurturing young professionals is vital to the continued growth of the industry and it’s really promising to see previous entrants and winners continue to excel since their involvement in this competition.”  

Some previous award-winners:
2005 People’s Choice Winner Massimo Mele, now head chef of Hugo's
2006 National Winner Beau Vincent, now owner of Subo, Newcastle
2008 People’s Choice and National Winner Jake Nicolson, now head chef at Circa, the Prince, Melbourne
2008 National Winner Leanne Altmann, now assistant sommelier at Cutler & Co, Melbourne

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *