The top 12 Young Guns of Wine for 2018 have been revealed, ahead of the final which will take place in Hobart next month.

The winner of the 2018 Riedel Young Gun of Wine will be revealed during the popular winter festival Dark MOFO, as well as the Best New Act, People’s Choice and the Winemaker’s Choice winners.

The 2018 judges included Nick Stock (Chief Judge, Gourmet Traveller Wine, et al) Mike Bennie (Delicious, et al), Caitlyn Rees (2017 Gourmet Traveller Sommelier of The Year), Emma Farrelly (2017 Good Food Guide WA Sommelier of The Year), Michael Downer of Murdoch Hill (2017 Young Gun of Wine winner), Lisa Cardelli (Rosetta), Pip Anderson (Mona), and Rory Kent (Founder of YGOW).

This year, the 12 finalists are made up of three winemakers from Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia, two hailing from Victoria and one from the ACT, with eight of the 12 finalists gracing this list for the first time.

There are two husband and wife duos: Yoko and Andries Mostert from Brave New Wine (Denmark, WA) and Gilli and Paul Lipscombe of Sailor Seeks Horse (Huon Valley, Tasmania).

There are another two female winemakers in the group – Melanie Chester of Sutton Grange and Kate Morgan of Ipso Facto – making one third of the finalist’s women, a great standout given statistics show that women occupy less than 10 per cent of winemaker roles in Australia.

In the countdown to the Final 12 Trophy presentation there will be two People’s Choice Events held at the Prince Wine Stores in both Sydney, on Thursday 14 June at 6pm, and in Melbourne on Saturday 16 June at 12pm.

The overall winners of the various trophies will be announced at The Young Gun of Wine Awards ceremony held on June 18, an invitation only event, at Mona Gallery in Hobart.

The Final 12 winemakers (via state) are as follows:


  • Hamish Young from Mada Wines, Canberra District (Shiraz, Sauv Blanc)


  • Damon Koerner from Koerner Wine, Clare Valley (Riesling, Cabernet Sauvignon/Malbec)
  • David Geyer from David Geyer, Barossa Valley/ Eden Valley/ McLaren Vale (Semillon, Cabernet Franc)
  • Rob Mack from Aphelion, McLaren Vale (Grenache, Grenache Mataro Shiraz)


  • Jonathan Hughes from Mewstone, D’Entrecasteaux Channel (Riesling, Syrah)
  • Ricky Evans from Two Tonne Tasmania, Tamar Valley (2 x Pinot Noir)
  • Gilli and Paul Lipscombe from Sailor Seeks Horse, Huon Valley (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir)


  • Sean Crinion from Dappled Wines, Yarra Valley (Chardonnay, Pinot noir)
  • Melanie Chester from Sutton Grange Winery, Bendigo (Fiano/ Viognier, Syrah)


  • Kate Morgan from Ipso Facto Wines, Margaret River (Chenin, Cabernet Sauvignon)
  • Yoko & Andries Mostert from Brave New Wine, Great Southern (Riesling/ Native Botanicals, Shiraz)
  • Nicolas Peterkin from L.A.S Vino, Margaret River (Chenin Blanc, Touriga nacional, Tinta Cao, Sousao).

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *