The 2020 Young Gun of Wine Top 50 winemakers have been revealed with over half named for the first time and the winner will be named on Monday 1 June.

This year’s Top 50 includes 17 winemakers from Victoria, 14 from South Australia, six from New South Wales/ACT, six from Western Australia, six from Tasmania and one from Queensland.

Young Gun of Wine Founder, Rory Kent, said of this year’s Top 50: “In an age where tribes have formed within the wine scene, the beauty of the Young Gun of Wine Awards is that it brings together a disparate group.

“The wines made by the Top 50 winemakers represent all corners, from experimental and natural wines to refined versions of the classics, whether still, sparkling, fortified or even infused, and from Tasmania to Western Australia to Queensland, and everywhere in between. They’re wines that are a reflection of winemakers that push the boundaries of capabilities and ideas.”

“The 2020 list represents a truly diverse collection of the best and latest in Australia right now, and the coming virtual events are an opportunity for wine lovers anywhere to connect with one another and gain some further understanding of the making behind the wines.”

The impressive 2020 YGOW Awards panel tasted around 250 wines over two days at Howard Smith Wharves to come together with the final Top 50 list.

Chef David Moyle said of his experience as a panellist: “There was hearty debate, I changed my mind a few times. Due time and focus was given to such a diverse range of Australia’s finest young winemakers and heck there were some great things. From classic and restrained to expressive and polarising, it was such a treat to taste and discuss in a room full of champions. Great times for Australian wine in the hands of the future.”

The Top 50 list via state is as follows:


  • Daniel Payne from Dirt Candy Wine, Hunter Valley
  • Angus Vinden from The Vinden Headcase, Hunter Valley
  • Steve Mobbs from Dreaded Friend / Wallington Wines, Central Ranges
  • Will Gilbert from Gilbert, Orange / Mudgee
  • Tom Ward from Swinging Bridge, Orange
  • Samuel Leyshon from Mallaluka, Canberra District


  • Andrew Scott from Le Petite Mort, Granite Belt


  • Sholto Broderick & Louis Broderick from Basket Range Wine, Adelaide Hills
  • Dylan Lee from Bird in Hand, Adelaide Hills
  • James Hamilton from Golden Child, Adelaide Hills
  • Michael Sexton from Main & Cherry, Adelaide Hills
  • Sarah Adamson from Scout Wines, Adelaide Hills / New Zealand
  • Tarrant Hansen from Spider Bill Wines, Adelaide Hills
  • Alyson Tannenbaum from Vinteloper, Adelaide Hills
  • Andre Bondar from Bondar Wines, McLaren Vale / Adelaide Hills
  • Charles Seppelt & Skye Salter from Paralian Wines, McLaren Vale
  • Mauricio Ruiz Cantu & Benjamin Caldwell from Somos, McLaren Vale
  • Con-Greg Grigoriou from Delinquente Wine Co, Riverland
  • Ansel Ashby from Gatch Wine, Riverland / Adelaide Hills / Clare Valley,
  • Steve Crawford from Frederick Stevenson, Barossa Valley Eden Valley / Adelaide Hills
  • Nick Dugmore from The Stoke Wines, Kangaroo Island
  • Jonathan Hughes from Mewstone Wines, Tasmania
  • Greer Carland from Quiet Mutiny, Tasmania
  • Gilli & Paul Lipscombe from Sailor Seeks Horse, Tasmania
  • James Broinowski from Small Island Wines, Tasmania
  • Ricky Evans from Two Tonne Tasmania, Tasmania
  • Hugh McCullough from Wellington & Wolfe, Tasmania


  • Chris Catlow from Sentio, Beechworth
  • Raquel Jones from Weathercraft, Beechworth
  • Natasha Webster from Empire of Dirt Wines, Geelong
  • Ben Mullen from Mulline, Geelong
  • Justin Purser from Dhiaga, Mornington Peninsula
  • Glen Hayley from Kooyong / Port Phillip Estate, Mornington Peninsula
  • Tara & Matthew Campbell from Mattara Wines, Mornington Peninsula / Grampians
  • Alexander Byrne from Noisy Ritual, Melbourne Geelong / Sunbury / King Valley / Heathcote /
  • Mornington / Gippsland / Grampians / Pyrenees
  • Chris Bendle from DCB Wine, Yarra Valley
  • Tim Perrin from from Oakridge Wines, Yarra Valley
  • Hadyn Black from Black & Ginger, Great Western / Grampians / Henty / Pyrenees
  • Leighton Joy from Pyren Vineyard, Pyrenees
  • Chris Dilworth & Loique Allain from Dilworth & Allain, Macedon Ranges
  • Renata Morello from Lyons Will Estate, Macedon Ranges
  • Ben Ranken from Wilimee, Macedon Ranges
  • Bart Van Olphen from Chalmers, Heathcote / Mildura
  • Jonathan Ross from Micro Wines, Geelong / Barossa Valley


  • Alexi Christidis from Chalari Wines, Perth Hills, Swan Valley
  • Garth Cliff from Vino Volta, Swan Valley / Swan District / Geographe / Perth Hills
  • Natasha Arthur from Arthur Wines, Margaret River
  • Dylan Arvidson from LS Merchants, Margaret River / Frankland River
  • Remi Guise from tripe.Iscariot, Margaret River
  • Kim Tyrer from Galafrey Wines, Mount Barker

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *