By Amy Looker

The Liquor Stores Association of NSW (LSA NSW) honoured its top performers on Friday evening at its annual Retail Liquor Industry Awards for Excellence gala dinner at Sydney’s Wentworth Sofitel.

More than 100 liquor retailers submitted nominations for this year’s awards, which recognise the top retailers, liquor stores, suppliers and sales representatives across the NSW retail liquor industry.

Over 260 guests attended the awards, which saw Vintage Cellars Hunters Hill win the award for top NSW liquor store, beating a pool of 30 into the top 10 before snagging the top gong.

LSA NSW president, Giuseppe Minissale, told the guests that next year will mark the 50th anniversary for the LSA NSW and that members could expect a series of memorable events to mark the association’s golden anniversary.

“Having supported and represented the retail liquor store industry in NSW since 1961 – from the time of the very first off-premise (retail) licence, the LSA NSW has been the consistent voice of the take-away packaged liquor sector in NSW,” said Minissale.

“2011 will be a memorable year with a number of events planned to celebrate this 'golden' milestone, one we very much look forward to sharing with our members, corporate partners and key retail liquor industry stakeholders.”

The full list of winners are:

Top 10 NSW Liquor Stores:

Bottle-O Whitebridge
Liquorland Narrandera
BWS Lane Cove
Society Cellars
BYO Cellars Medowie
Vintage Cellars Hunters Hill
CBD Cellars Carrington Street
Wingham Cellars
Forest Hill Bottle Shop
1st Choice Penrith

Runner Up – Regional NSW Liquor Store: Forest Hill Bottle Shop
Runner Up – Metro NSW Liquor Store: CBD Cellars Carrington Street

Top NSW Liquor Store: Vintage Cellars Hunters Hill

Liquor Store Manager of the Year: Sharyn Enderby, Bottle-O Lambton

Liquor Store Owner of the Year: Bob Quarmby, Forest Hill Bottle Shop

Award for Excellence in Training: The Cellar Group

Beer Supplier of the Year: Carlton & United Breweries

Beer Representative of the Year: Rhani Hastie, Carlton & United Breweries

Wine/Champagne Supplier of the Year: Samuel Smith & Son

Wine/Champagne Representative of the Year: Elizabeth Dorrough, Treasury Wine Estates

Spirits Supplier of the Year: Diageo Australia

Spirits Representative of the Year: Rodney Franklin, Brown-Forman

General Service Supplier of the Year: Australian Liquor Marketers


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *