By Amy Looker

The Champagne Bureau announced the winners of the 2010 Vin de Champagne Awards at an exclusive event at Sydney’s Becasse restaurant on Monday (Sep 27) night.

Tetsuyas sommelier, Greg Plowes, won the professional category, with Yuri Berns from Western Australia’s Curtin University winning the student category and Professor Tim Sullivan from Brisbane winning the amateur category.

All three winners will fly to France next month for a two-week educational tour to the Champagne district where they receive their medal from Comite Champagne and enjoy the legendary Champenois hospitality.

Becasse chef, Justin North, prepared a sumptuous six-course dinner matched to thirteen Champagnes from the houses of Ayala, Bollinger, Charles Heidsieck, G.H. Mumm, Henriot, Lanson, Louis Roederer, Moët et Chandon, Nicolas Feuillatte, Pol Roger, Ruinart, Taittinger and Veuve Clicquot.

Over 2000 glasses of Champagne were served during the course of the evening to guests including high profile members of the food and wine industries, Champagne aficionados and VIPs.


The 2010 Vin de Champagne winners, Professor Tim Sullivan, Yuri Berns and Greg Plowes

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *