Wolf Blass has been named at the Red Winemaker of the Year at the prestigious International Wine Challenge, the fourth time the winery has collected the award.

The previous wins came in 2008, 2013 and 2016 and adds to the more that10,000 medals and trophies that Wolf Blass has collected globally.

Wolf Blass Chief Winemaker, Chris Hatcher, said: “Being named Red Winemaker of the Year for the fourth time is very humbling.

“We are very proud with the continued recognition we have received at one of the world’s most respected and prestigious wine competitions and it is a great triumph for Wolf Blass, reinforcing our reputation as one of Australia’s and the world’s leading winemakers with a strong history of major global award wins.

“The Wolf Blass philosophy of synergistic blending, always maintaining quality, character and consistency was embedded by our Founder, Wolfgang Blass, from the very beginning and is very much a philosophy the winemaking team upholds today. This accolade cements this; given wines across our entire range contributed to this outstanding win.

“We treasure awards won at respected international wine competitions as they are a true, independent assessment of our wines from some of the most experienced and respected wine judges in the world.”

In addition, the 2019 Wolf Blass Grey Label McLaren Vale Shiraz was awarded the International Shiraz Trophy – after a five-year reign held by Syrah from New Zealand and the first time in almost a decade that Australia has won back this trophy.

Other Australian trophy winners at this year’s IWC include 2005 Arras E.J Carr Late Disgorged Vintage – Australian Sparkling Trophy, 2019 Penfolds Reserve Bin A Chardonnay – Australian White Trophy and 2019 Baudinet – Australian Red Trophy.

Andy Young

Andy joined Intermedia as Editor of The Shout in 2015, writing news on a daily basis and also writing features for National Liquor News. Now Managing Editor of both The Shout and Bars and Clubs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *