The Wine Society has announced the 10 finalists for the Young Winemaker of the Year Award 2008.

In a first for the awards, almost half of the finalists are from New Zealand. The competition only opened up to Kiwi winemakers last year when only two Kiwis made the top 10.

This year is also proving to be a coup for the Australia’s southern states, with all Australian finalists coming from Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania.

The final stage of the competition will see two of each finalists’ wines judged by a panel of industry icons over the next two months, with the winner to be named Young Winemaker of the Year for 2008.

Competitors will also be put to the test by The Wine Society members and some of the country’s top sommeliers in a national road show to determine the Members’ Choice and Sommeliers’ Choice awards.

The winners for each category will be announced at a gala awards dinner at Sydney’s Westin Hotel in Sydney on November 1.

The 10 finalists are:

• Stuart Marfell from Vavasour Wines – NZ
• Greg Clack from Chain of Ponds – SA
• Malcolm Rees-Francis of Rockburn Wines – NZ
• Lucas Cowley from Auntsfield Estate – NZ
• Anna Pooley from Heemskerk Wines – TAS
• Angela Miranda from Orlando Wines – SA
• Matt Evans from De Vine Wines – NZ
• Greer Carland from Winemaking TAS
• Helen McCarthy from Taylors Wines – SA
• Ben Haines from Mitchelton Wines – VIC

For more information, click here.


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *