By Annette Shailer

Ryan Aggiss from Flying Fish Cove, Dunsborough in Western Australia, was named The Wine Society’s Young Winemaker of the Year 2009 at a ceremony at the Westin Hotel in Sydney, last Friday (Nov 20).

Aggiss scooped the prestigious award for his winning two wines – 2008 Flying Fish Cabernet Merlot and 2008 Flying Fish Chardonnay.

Flying Fish Cove winery managing director nominated Aggiss who has been working there as winemaker for the last two years.

The Wine Society CEO, Daryl MacGraw, said that they had been impressed yet again by the high standard of award entries.

“It’s so refreshing to see such high quality wines being produced from such young winemakers and gives us great hope in the future of Australian and New Zealand winemaking,” he said.

“We hope that by offering a platform for these winemakers to be recognised, that the high standards will continue in years to come.”

In addition to The Wine Society Young Winemaker of the Year, two other awards were presented – the Members’ Choice and the Sommeliers’ Choice.

Winner of the Sommeliers’ Choice award, chosen by 20 of the country’s top sommeliers, was Jen Pfeiffer from Pfeiffer Wines, Victoria, who put forward the 2008 Pfeiffer Shiraz and 2006 Pfeiffer Christopher’s Vintage Port.

Winner of the Members’ Choice award was second time nominee Peter Kelly from Thorn-Clarke Wines, South Australia, for his 2007 Shotfire Quartage and 2008 Shotfire Shiraz.

The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *