By Annette Shailer

Western Australia’s The Breakwater, has taken out the top gong at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) National Awards for Excellence at the Westin Sydney last night (Sept 12).

More than 500 industry leaders turned out for the awards, which recognise venues in both the accommodation and general division.

AHA national CEO, Des Crowe, congratulated The Breakwater in Perth, which took out the Best Restaurant Award and the coveted Best Overall Hotel (General Division).

“The AHA National Awards are contested by the winners of awards from every state and territory, so there is tough competition in all categories. The Breakwater was up against finalists from other states with significant gaming operations, so to be named Overall Hotel of the Year is a fantastic accomplishment,” he said.

Also recognised on the night was the Coogee Bay Hotel (NSW) for Best Pub-Style Accommodation, the Chalk Hotel (QLD) for Best Marketed Hotel and Steward Luk from Cargo Bar (NSW) who was crowned Bartender of the Year.

The new Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa emerged as the star performer in the Accommodation Division with the luxury resort winning three awards, including Best Deluxe Accommodation, Best Environmental Practice and Best Overall Accommodation Hotel.

All the winners:

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement
Hotels Have Hearts (NSW)

Outstanding Achievement in Training
Rydges Melbourne (Vic)

Best Environmental Practice (Joint-winners)
Grand Hotel Mornington (Vic)
Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa (NSW)

Best Tourism Initiative
Strahan Village – The Bonnet Island Experience (Tas)

Best Bistro – Country
The Entrance Hotel (NSW)

Best Bistro – Metro (Joint-winners)
Belair Hotel (SA)
Botanica Brasserie – Sheraton on the Park (NSW)

Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division
Altitude – Shangri-La (NSW)

Best Restaurant – General Division (Country)
Queens Wharf Brewery Nor’East (NSW)

Best Restaurant – General Division (Metro)
The Breakwater (WA)

Best Retail Liquor Outlet
Yamanto Tavern (Qld)

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Country
Irish Murphy’s (Vic)

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metro
Story Bridge Hotel (Qld)

Best Sporting Entertainment Venue
Northies – Cronulla Hotel (NSW)

Best Entertainment Venue (Joint-winners)
Coolangatta Hotel (Qld)

Best Outdoor/Non-enclosed Facility
The Highway (SA)

Best Gaming Venue – Country
Port Macquarie Hotel (NSW)

Best Gaming Venue – Metro
Belair Hotel (SA)

Best Redeveloped Hotel – Accommodation Division
Novotel Canberra (ACT)

Best Redeveloped Hotel – General Division
Lord of the Isles Tavern (Vic)

Best Marketed Hotel – Accommodation Division
Hilton Adelaide (SA)

Best Marketed Hotel – General Division
Chalk Hotel (Qld)

Bartender of the Year
Steward Luk – Cargo Bar (NSW)

Chef of the Year
Steven Krasicki – Shangri-La (NSW)

Front of House Employee of the Year (Joint-winners)
Martin Zumstein – The Westin (NSW)
Sid Scott – Green Island Resort (Qld)

Employee Excellence in Service
Rosalee Karutz – Sydney Harbour Marriott (NSW)

Hotel Industry Rising Star
Lauren Hodder – Lenna of Hobart (Tas)

Best Pub-Style Accommodation
Coogee Bay Hotel (NSW)

Best Mid-Range Accommodation
Loxley on Bellbird Hill (NSW)

Best Suite/Apartment Hotel
Star City Hotel & Apartments (NSW)

Best Resort-Style Accommodation
Pinctada Cable Beach (WA)

Best Superior Accommodation
Henry Jones Art Hotel (Tas)

Best Deluxe Hotel Accommodation
Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa (NSW)

Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division
Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa (NSW)

Overall Hotel of the Year – General Division
The Breakwater (WA)

Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame Inductee – 2010
Mr Patrick Griffin OAM – Observatory Hotel (NSW)


The Shout Team

The leading online news service for Australia's beer, wine, spirits and hospitality industries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *